No Regrets

19 Mar

Image from tanaphotography.com

I would occasionally get a little depro about buckling to pressure and going with popular opinion instead of my gut. When I saw or experienced weddings that have elements that I so wished I had been brave enough to pull off (like eloping), I would get a pang of regret right after ooh-ing and ah-ing at the beautiful bravery of the couple to be authentic. But I have realised that regret is useless and that it changes nothing but tarnishes the experience of a memory. No, that will not be the way I interact with better ways to do something. Instead, I ooh and ah at the element I would have incorporated into my own experience and that is that. The lesson is noted, referenced, and put to use in the next opportunity to make a choice. As long as we do the best we can with what we have at our disposal, regret has no place in our lives. As the incomparable Oprah Winfrey puts it, “when we know better, we do better”

One Response to “No Regrets”

  1. Thobile Tops Mkhwanazi Wednesday, April 18, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    Oprah Winfrey puts it best, “when we know better, we do better”

    For me what also comes to mind is that our journey’s should be a pursuit of wholeness and not perfection and it is a one day at a time process.

    Great piece:-)

What are your thoughts?

